Book Review: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Michael Joseph 2012

Rating: 5/5

I was so excited with this book after seeing how much a couple of my friends adored it, and a long time has gone by with this book constantly on my to be read piles each – yet every month for some reason I never quite got around to it. But this month, I am proud to say that I finally got around to reading this Jojo Moyes novel and I am so glad that I did!

The story follows Louisa Clark who is forced to take a job looking after a quadriplegic, Will Traynor, as her family is desperate for the extra income. This intrigued me although I prayed it was not going to become some instant love romance. Due to Will’s condition he wishes to end his own life on his terms and for me this was the main theme of the novel. The novel offered a complex and intricately detailed plot which gives out so many characters’ stories but ties them together so beautifully that you didn’t become confused.

Louisa, I feel, wasn’t just trying to convince Will to live but rather giving him a reason to enjoy his life until he chooses to die. As a result she falls in love with Will, truly and deeply! This novel had me laugh, it made me cry and it made me unable to focus on anything else!

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

download (4)


4 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You

Leave a comment